About Us

Recognition & Awards

The Idaho Judicial System relies on the dedication of its staff and their commitment to serving the public. Here are some notable achievements by the people and teams that set the Idaho Courts apart.

Judge Christopher Bieter | Granata Award

With the George C. Granata Award, the Idaho courts recognize an individual who has gone above and beyond to ensure all Idahoans have access to fair and efficient justice.  

Judge Bieter, an Ada County magistrate judge, became the driving force behind modernizing Idaho’s guardianship and conservatorship laws and ensuring they are applied equally statewide. Those who nominated the judge praised his focus on the needs of the community and his mentorship of others.


Sandra Barrios | Kramer Award

The Douglas D. Kramer Award recognizes excellence in judicial administration in Idaho’s state courts through demonstrated character and action. 

Sandra Barrios served as a master-level court interpreter and worked in language access services and court administration before being appointed the Fourth Judicial District’s trial court administrator in 2019. She has been lauded for her efforts that kept courts open during the pandemic, and the ease with which she gives of her time to others. 

Judge Paul Laggis | Legacy Award

The Magistrate Judges Association’s Legacy Award was created to recognize a judge’s dedicated and noteworthy leadership and service to their community, colleagues and citizens. 

Judge Laggis, a Power County magistrate judge, received the award for his efforts at education about the work of magistrate judges, to support fellow magistrate judges during the pandemic, and  for his care and interest in those who come before his court. 

Judge Ronald Wilper | Eismann Award

The Daniel Eismann Award for Treatment Courts recognizes a judge who demonstrated exceptional leadership and commitment to the success of their treatment court team and participants. 

Judge Wilper presided over the Ada County Drug Court for seven years and served as deputy chair of the Idaho Supreme Court’s Statewide Treatment Court Committee. Now retired, he educates treatment court judges throughout the state, aids treatment courts in three judicial districts and gives technical assistance to similar courts in other states.